ETSTC Training School Collection
Scope and Contents
This collection includes a variety of material related to the Training School. Included is a manuscript which describes the history of the Training School, student directories, various ephemera, and materials related to the 50th Class Reunion in 1990.
- 1917 - 1948
Conditions Governing Use
Items in this collection are protected by applicable copyright laws.
Biographical / Historical
The East Texas State Normal College Training School was formed in the Fall semester of 1917. This program was an opportunity for student teachers at the college to get hands on experience teaching as part of their educational experience. The program expanded to include all grades from elementary through high school. Classes were often small, less than twenty-five students. The last senior class to graduate from the Training School was in 1948.
In addition to education, the Training School also had a football and basketball team, known as The Cubs. They also hosted banquets and an annual Halloween Carnival to raise money for the Parent Teacher Association.
The Training School was housed in a building on campus known as the “Dairy Barn”. It was built in 1916 from wood salvaged from the demolition of East Dormitory. The wooden, white-frame, single story building resembled a milking shed. It contained five classrooms for grades 1-9, a combination library and science laboratory, and an office for the Training School supervisor. The training school was relocated to the new Education Building (now Ferguson Hall) in 1925 and the "Dairy Barn" was demolished.
.5 Linear Feet (10 folders)
Language of Materials
Donor unknown, found in collection.
- East Texas State College. Training School -- History. Subject Source: Local sources
- ETSTC Training School Collection
- Josephine Rickman
- May 3, 2021
- Description rules
- Describing Archives: A Content Standard
- Language of description
- Script of description