Skip to main content

Minutes of the Texas State Teachers Colleges Council of Presidents

Identifier: 2011.09-A

Scope and Contents

This collection, which is not subdivided into series, consists principally of the meeting minutes of the Texas State Teachers Colleges Council of Presidents. It also includes related correspondence and various other related materials such as resolutions and statements. It is organized chronologically, with separate files for each calendar year.


  • 1922 - 1948

Conditions Governing Use

Items in this collection are protected by applicable copyright laws.

Biographical / Historical

The Texas State Teachers Colleges Council of Presidents was a committee composed by the presidents, and at various times also the deans, business managers, and other various officials, of the state-supported normal/teachers colleges in Texas. During the timespan represented by these records, from 1922 to 1948, it was consistently comprised of seven member institutions: East Texas State Normal/Teachers College in Commerce, North Texas State Normal/Teachers College in Denton, Sam Houston Normal Institute/State Teachers College in Huntsville, Southwest Texas State Normal/Teachers College in San Marcos, Stephen F. Austin State Normal/Teachers College in Nacogdoches, Sul Ross State Normal/Teachers College in Alpine, and West Texas State Normal/Teachers College in Canyon. Additionally, from 1924 to 1928, South Texas State Teachers College in Kingsville (later the Texas College of Arts and Industries) participated on the Council of Presidents. Noted long-serving presidents on the Council included A. W. Birdwell (Stephen F. Austin), H. F. Estill (Sam Houston State), C. E. Evans (Southwest Texas State), J. A. Hill (West Texas State), R. L. Marquis (Sul Ross and North Texas State), W. J. McConnell (North Texas State), H. W. Morelock (Sul Ross), and Sam H. Whitley (East Texas State).


0.5 Linear Feet

Language of Materials



All materials ordered chronologically, as they (generally) were originally.

Related Materials

Many identical documents are contained in the bound volume Council of Presidents, Texas State Normal Colleges: Minutes 1921-1948, found in Special Collections' non-circulating library (LD1742.9 .A5 1921-48 /

Separated Materials

Originally interfiled with the distinctly separate minutes of the Texas State-Supported Colleges Council of Presidents, which have been removed as a separate collection (2011.09-B).

Minutes of the Texas State Teachers Colleges Council of Presidents
Michael Barera
November 18, 2016
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives, Special Collections, Waters Library, Texas A&M University-Commerce Repository