Skip to main content

Minutes of the Texas State-Supported Colleges Council of Presidents

Identifier: 2011.09-B

Scope and Contents

This collection, which is not subdivided into series, consists principally of the meeting minutes of the Texas State-Supported Colleges Council of Presidents. It also includes related correspondence and various other related materials such as bills, bond payment tables, and resolutions. It is organized chronologically, with separate files for each calendar year.


  • 1926 - 1948, inclusive
  • Majority of material found within 1932 - 1948,

Conditions Governing Use

Items in this collection are protected by applicable copyright laws.

Biographical / Historical

The Texas State-Supported Colleges Council of Presidents was a committee composed by the presidents, and at various times also the deans, business managers, and other various officials, of numerous (but not all) state-supported colleges and universities in Texas. During the timespan represented by these records, from 1926 to 1948, it consisted of the following institutions: the College of Industrial Arts / Texas State College for Women in Denton, East Texas State Teachers College in Commerce, John Tarleton Agricultural College in Stephenville, North Texas Agricultural College in Arlington, North Texas State Teachers College in Denton, Sam Houston State Teachers College in Huntsville, Southwest Texas State Teachers College in San Marcos, Stephen F. Austin State Teachers College in Nacogdoches, Sul Ross State Teachers College in Alpine, Texas Agricultural and Mechanical College in College Station, the Texas College of Arts and Industries in Kingsville, Texas State School / College of Mines and Metallurgy in El Paso, Texas Technological College in Lubbock, the University of Texas in Austin, and West Texas State Teachers College in Canyon. Noted long-serving presidents on the Council included: A. W. Birdwell (Stephen F. Austin), E. E. Davis (Dean of North Texas Agricultural), J. Thomas Davis (Dean of John Tarleton Agricultural), H. F. Estill (Sam Houston State), C. E. Evans (Southwest Texas State), J. A. Hill (West Texas State), L. H. Hubbard (College of Industrial Arts), W. J. McConnell (North Texas State), H. W. Morelock (Sul Ross), T. O. Walton (Texas Agricultural and Mechanical), Sam H. Whitley (East Texas State), and D. A. Wiggins (Mines and Metallurgy).


0.5 Linear Feet

Language of Materials



All materials ordered chronologically, as they (generally) were originally.

Related Materials

Many identical documents are contained in the bound volume Council of Presidents, Texas State Normal Colleges: Minutes 1921-1948, found in Special Collections' non-circulating library (LD1742.9 .A5 1921-48 /

Separated Materials

Originally interfiled with the distinctly separate minutes of the Texas State Teachers Colleges Council of Presidents, from which it has been removed as a separate collection (2011.09-A).

Minutes of the Texas State-Supported Colleges Council of Presidents
Michael Barera
November 18, 2016
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Code for undetermined script
Language of description note

Repository Details

Part of the University Archives, Special Collections, Waters Library, Texas A&M University-Commerce Repository